CAN FLAVOR HELP YOU FIND #LOVEATFIRSTTASTE?

See what happens when strangers, matched only by flavor, meet for a surprisingly intimate first date
in the new global campaign ‘Love At First Taste’

LoveAtFirstTaste Screencap 1 LoveAtFirstTaste Screencap 2

Can flavor tell us more about ourselves than we think? Moreover, can people be matched based on their flavor profiles? As experts in flavor, Knorr has discovered how our favorite flavors might mean so much more than previously thought, particularly when it comes to finding love.

The research behind this new campaign spoke to 12,000 people in 12 different countries, on the ground breaking role flavors play in our lives. With 83% of responders claiming to be more attracted to people who enjoy the same food flavors as them, this fuelled the idea that your personality flavor can truly help in making a meaningful connection and determine the depth and quality of our various relations – whether with family members, friends and peers, or even romantic partners. 80% see flavor as an important part of their everyday life. In fact, 69% of find the idea of trying out new flavors sexy and exciting, and surprisingly, 73% of them would even most willingly give up social media first forever before sacrificing flavor.Overall, the research reveals how our flavor preferences are just as important when it comes to choosing a partner, as eight out of ten people said they are more attracted to people who share their flavor preferences. A third even said they found someone ordering a dish they disliked a turn off, though one in five is wise to this and admits to choosing a meal they didn’t like to impress a date.Putting these insights and research to the ultimate test, a social experiment campaign with a twist was created to showcase how flavor can be catalysts to life’s meaningful connections. In a short film entitled Love at First Taste, sets of two complete strangers were paired up in a blind date on the basis on their love for the same flavors. The result? An entertaining film that underpins how each culinary experience and flavor creates distinct memories and feelings with people, discovered using the Flavor Profiler.“Having studied the behavioural patterns behind food consumption for over 30 years, this research by Knorr validates something I have long suspected; that food and flavors are a window to our character and our flavor preferences offer a vital insight into our personality,” shared Greg Tucker, Flavor Expert and Psychologist. “So it is no wonder that when pairing up, we seek soul-mates who are also eat-mates, who like the same food and flavors that we do.”

Ready to find out what your flavor profile is? Watch Knorr’s latest film Love at First Taste and be inspired on how strangers became match made in foodie heaven.

.

Discover which one of the twelve flavor profiles you are! Take the Knorr Flavor Profiler at myflavor.Knorr.com and share your flavor personality with your Love at First Taste stories online using the official hashtag #LoveAtFirstTaste.

 

My #LoveAtFirstTaste Story

Each one of us has a #LoveAtFirstTaste story to share. Unlike with most of you that will begin with their better half or special someone, mine is with my greatest love – my dad. I’m a certified daddy’s girl. I have a lot of cherished moments with my dad. When everybody’s talking about father I always get too emotional. (yea! like a crying baby. Haha)

My dad used to be a stay-at-home dad. Yes! My dad used to be the bacon-cooking, pajama wearing, kid-wrangling home-dad. While mom was at work that time, my dad will be her substitute doing the household chores and raising a pair of daughter.My dad became the primary caregiver for me and my sister. My dad fulfilled the absence of my mom at home. My dad take on everything my mom can. It involved school lunches, homework, all pick-ups and drop-offs and after school activities, my dad takes on the majority of household responsibilities as well. He cleans, goes grocery shopping, does yard work, fixes things, and most importantly cooks for us. My dad is a good cook. He really loves to cook. He always make it sure that we will have a good food in each meal. I remembered him preparing my packed-lunch for my fieldtrips, getting up so early just for us to have a good breakfast meal. His food taste like no other! (of course! He’s my dad. I’m a fan! hehe). Few years later my dad decided to go back to work, he then again became an overseas worker. It was really hard for me and my sister back then to be separated with my dad. I was in grade 4 that time and I could clearly remember everything. I cried like there’s no tomorrow. That was my first ever heart broken. Every single day I missed everything he does for us. I missed all our good meals, all his effort just for me to have a good lunch at school, all those early wake up call just for us to eat breakfast together. He’s too caring that I got to dependent with him. But later on as days, weeks, months and years flew by I get used to growing up without his presence. I eat breakfast, lunch and dinner alone. At home my mom, my sister and I got our own agendas in a day. We rarely eat breakfast together. Most of the time we skipped dinner because mom was to tired to cook and prepare a meal. There will be times that I crave for Papa’s signature dishes. My heart broke into pieces every time a thought of him will pass in my mind. I wondered who eats with him? Does he have a good food each meal?

Now that I’m already in my mid 20’s and my dad is in his mid 50’s we are still separated and he still works abroad. I knew how hard it was for him to live on his own in a foreign country far away from us. But he sacrificed everything just for us to have a better life. There is always a special bond between me and my dad. Papa is definitely my first ever love. I know that my Papa is not getting any younger, sooner or later he will slowly lose everything. His senses, energy, and appetite. I promised to cook the best and pinaka maasim na Sinigang with Knorr when he slowly lose his sense of taste until he regained it. I promised not to give up on him no matter what just like how he endured all the pain raising us.

 

What’s your #LoveAtFirstTaste Story?

Share your favorite dining moment with your favorite people using the hashtag #LoveAtFirstTaste.  Post the story on your Facebook account along with the link of the newest Love at First Taste film  and get a chance to win an exclusive Unilever Foods gift packs!

I will announce the winners on May 3, 2016

xoxo (1)

 

 

untitled-1

7 thoughts on “CAN FLAVOR HELP YOU FIND #LOVEATFIRSTTASTE?

  1. Too bad I don’t really have a #TasteatFirstLove story to share so I can’t join. Anyway, I totally agree with Knorr that we become attracted to people who have the same preference in food and flavors with us. That is actually one of the reasons why I’m attracted and still attracted to my co-blogger and bf, Lloyd. We both love eating Japanese food, having mayonnaise as our sauce and discovering new flavors. Love life is better if they’re our eat-mate too. Thank you for sharing this post.

    Like

  2. I really admire how fathers of the previous generations stood their responsibilities when it comes to being a father to their kids. It’s so sad that your father needs to work abroad but that’s alright, the important is that he was able to build the bond you are now cherishing. Sooner, later when he returns, I am sure that you can always have the bond you used to have with him.

    Like

  3. Flavors and taste do remind us the most important events or people in our lives. If I take this taste, I wont’ be surprised that it will show how much I love and miss my Mama’s cooking. It was lovely to read about your experience with your dad. He sounds like a cool father, just like my Papa. Hopefully, your dad can find a good job here so he won’t have to work abroad and be with you and your family more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

